joi noir


Olga Gallo
Igor Plotnikov

Where you’ve been shapes who you are. Joi Noir’s expansive travels offer international experience and a universal edge to the trio’s lithe and lo-fi resurrection of post-punk spark with a graceful touch of modern sheen. The band’s story and name begins in Africa’s Pointe-Noire, Republic of Congo – where Pointe-Noire is reflected in “Noir,” and the members’ initials Jack Kuznetsov (drums), Olga Gallo (vocals, bass) and Igor Plotnikov (guitars) form “Joi.”

The Russian-born Jack and Igor found themselves in the Congo along with Olga, who got great inspiration from the surroundings and urged the lifelong musicians to start performing together.  As Joi Noir’s main songwriter and composer, Olga’s passion spurred on the project.  Her influences of the spirit of late seventies and early eighties new wave movements are embodied in the music and are the driving force behind the band.


Tokyo 1.jpg



News & Updates